Historic Routt County Staff, Board of Directors, and Advisors

HRC’s Board and Staff work hard to connect you with the resources you need to achieve your own historic preservation objectives. Board members have the vision and insight to make sure Historic Routt County continues in a sustainable direction, and staff is well-equipped with the skills and tools necessary to partner with you.

Emily Katzman

Emily has served as HRC's executive director since 2017. She holds a B.A. in history from Lewis & Clark College, where she studied the history of the American west, environmental history, and Australian history. She is particularly interested in how we use preservation as a tool to create vital, valued, and sustainable community spaces. She volunteers with Bud Werner Memorial Library's Literary Sojourn program and previously served on the Board of Directors of the Yampa Valley Housing Authority.

Executive Director of Historic Routt County

Craig Townsend

Craig carries an appreciation for history and its integrity stemming from his own family’s heritage as homesteaders of western Kansas. Craig understands that the history of Routt County is unique in its own right and looks forward to working to ensure it is captured and preserved for generations to come. Craig offers the HRC board a couple of unique perspectives through his extensive world travel from his service and leadership in the Navy as well as working as former Director of Development for a national commercial real estate development company.   Craig lives north of Steamboat with his wife Ranada and works as a Land Broker with Mason & Morse Ranch Company.

Board President

Tyler Gibbs

Tyler Gibbs is the former Steamboat Springs Planning Director and former Urban Design Director for the City of Denver.  He oversaw historic preservation programs in both cities.

As a licensed architect and practicing urban design consultant, Tyler has a passion for the built environment and the landscapes we share as a community. He loves exploring cities, large and small, around the world and seeing how they reflect the history of their cultures over time.  Tyler has been a member of the National Trust for Historic Preservation since his first college architectural history class.

Vice President

John Major

John Major is the Reference Librarian for Bud Werner Memorial Library and former board member for the Society of Rocky Mountain Archivists.  His work in archives and special collections in Denver sparked his passion for the preservation of our documented heritage--a passion now applied to the built environment of Routt County. John feels the collective memory of our community should be actively preserved and made accessible to residents and visitors alike--both on and off the page.


Chris Imbler

More information coming soon!


Kathy Cline

"I've been involved with the local non-profit community for over twenty years, and I recognize the importance of taking care of not only our residents and visitors, but also our unique natural and historic resources. I truly appreciate the interest and valuable help from others in the community to preserve our sense of place and history through conservation of our open land resources and historic preservation of our unique buildings, for “once they are gone, they are gone forever…'"

Kathy is the former Finance Director at Yampa Valley Land Trust. Kathy first came to the Yampa Valley from Michigan in 1975. Drawn back by the natural beauty and western heritage of the area, she returned in 1978 to call the Yampa Valley her home. With a background in economics and finance, Kathy has taught at Colorado Mountain College and worked in accounting in the hospitality and non-profit industries.

Emeritus Director

Tegan Ebbert

More information coming soon!

Board of Directors

Holly Kirkpatrick

More information coming soon!

Board of Directors

Gates Gooding

More information coming soon!

Board of Directors

Heather Noyes

More information coming soon!

Board of Directors

Arianthé Stettner

Arianthé has lived in Routt County since 1971.  Her interest in historic preservation began when she and her husband Paul rehabilitated their once abandoned 1912 log home on Yellow Jacket Pass, near Stagecoach Reservoir.  She cofounded Historic Routt County (HRC) in the 1990s and has been involved in many different ways with HRC ever since. After retiring from a career as a nationally known textile artist, Stettner served multiple terms on the Steamboat Springs City Council, and was President of the statewide nonprofit organization Colorado Preservation Inc. She earned a Master of Arts degree in Historic Preservation from Goucher College in 2011.

Emeritus Director

Susan Albers

Advisory Board Member – Susan Albers

“I am involved with HRC, because having lived in six different states and seven different countries, I have learned that by getting to know the history of a place, I can understand it better and appreciate it more.”

My husband and I moved to Routt County in 2004 for retirement, because we had enjoyed vacationing here. I graduated from the University of Missouri with a degree in Home Economics/Housing Design in 1975. I am married, have three sons and three grandchildren. I volunteer at the Tracks and Trails Museum in Oak Creek, with the Friends of Stagecoach Park and with Historic Routt County.

Advisory Board Member

Bill Latoza

More information coming soon!

Advisory Board/Save Arnold Barn

Todd Hagenbuch

Board Member – Todd Hagenbuch

Todd's areas of expertise include agricultural policy, agricultural land preservation, including purchase of development rights, conservation easements and land trusts and water rights. Todd previously served as president of Historic Routt County's Board of Directors.

Advisory Board - Routt County Extension Agent

If you would like to join our team, or learn more, please contact us: